Make Tracks for the Zoo

In a mere 20 days I will be running in my first race ever!  The race is back home in the great state of Missouri and is affiliated with the St. Louis Zoo and the Children’s Hospital.  I never in a million years thought that I would enter any kind of race, but after I returned to the gym following the new year I realized that it wasn’t as hard as I thought to get my body and mind to travel farther distances and decided to challenge myself and of course drag my mother along for the ride.  We are both working on our overall health and I know this is a great goal to help us on our pursuit.

Some of you may be wondering about how I train and what kind of equipment I use…  So here goes…

As far as the shoes I wear, I happen to be a minimalist runner, so I sport the Vibram Five Finger Sprint.  I absolutely love them!  (Plus they look awesome…)  They allow me to run faster and farther than when I have regular running shoes on.  The only downside, and it could just be the way I run, but I have some huge calluses forming on my heals!

I also run with my iPhone using the RunKeeper app.  I currently have a love/hate relationship with this app.  It seems to shortchange me on distance and my speed.  For instance today I ran well over my distance for the 5K yet when I finished it said I still had a bit to go.  I remedy that by going to my account online and creating a course to see how far I actually did, and can guesstimate how long it actually took me.  Today I believe my 5K was finished in about 28-29 minutes, which is just a minute or so slower than my pace in the gym.

My training began on a treadmill in a nice climate controlled gym (it was winter in New England! There was NO WAY I was getting out on the road in the 65+ inches of snow we accumulated in one month alone!)  Yet I’m finding this was a nice way to begin since I have to keep up with the treadmill unlike road running where you can waver as much as you like.  In addition to the running I would also do a bit of cycling for about 30 minutes.

The weather has finally become acceptable for me to run outside and I will admit the first few runs were brutal!  I had lost my digital companion in the treadmill numbers, so I was all over the place with my speed and it also didn’t help that I had sustained a 3 week respite from running due to a busy schedule of music.  But as of today I am finally back to where I was on the treadmill.  I could have even ran another 3 miles! (Ok maybe not but I sure felt good when I was done today!)

So if you’re in the STL area on May 22 please come and join my mom and me in our first 5K!  Even if you’re walking!                     Make Tracks for the Zoo

(In a few months I might be able to do this….)

(Hey.. a girl can dream!)

-another sopraboist

2 responses to “Make Tracks for the Zoo

Leave a Reply

