Endings and Beginnings

As I reach the end of my time in Connecticut I am becoming more and more aware at how intrinsically linked the words end and begin are.  Inevitably as you near the end of something it means the beginning of something else, yet that isn’t always how we view the situation.  As you walk across the stage at graduation you find yourself in the midst of a ceremony titled “Commencement,” a word with a huge double meaning. While it signifies the end of something, possibly something very meaningful to your life, something you may not want to leave or forget, the often forgotten double meaning of the word is that it is the beginning of something.

Lately I’ve been focusing so much on the beginning I’m about to embark on (beginning a DMA, moving to NYC, etc), that I’ve forgotten to bask in the endings I have been bombarded with. Yesterday I had my final lessons with my students and as each lesson was finished it finally began to sink in that I would not see these great kids again.  I am quite sad at that thought.  One student I have been teaching well over a year and am amazed at his progress. The fact that I will not be a part of or witness that progress anymore saddens me.

This celebration of my Connecticut end has been lost in a mist partially because I haven’t had any reason to feel like it was ending.  Sure I finished my degree, but I have chosen not to walk at graduation, and at my new school in New York I will still be studying with the same oboe teacher.  So in a very weird psychological way it’s not an ending, but a continuation. What I’m learning, or more accurately remembering, from all of this is that I need to take the time to smell the roses.  Once these endings are gone, and I’m fully in the beginnings the ending celebration window will have closed.

In short, celebrate every month, every week, every day, and every moment.  They all have endings and beginnings!  That’s that stuff that makes up life, and shouldn’t life be one giant celebration?

-another sopraboist

2 responses to “Endings and Beginnings

Leave a Reply

