Lost in the big city….searching for balance

Hello everyone!  It’s been a long while since I’ve posted, but I’ve been very busy!  I have made my move to NYC and have been spending my time getting settled and beginning this new challenge of working through a frightening DMA degree at the CUNY Graduate Center.  In the past few months I have learned so much about New York life and how the next 5 years of my life will be.  In short, I will be extremely busy for the next 5 years.  I will be constantly working on my skills as an oboist and vocalist while balancing my time with my school studies and also working to support myself.

This leaves little time for much rest and relaxation, let alone something I believe normal people describe as a.. uh, social life. (I’ve heard rumors about such things…) So I’m currently working to figure out the correct balance for me and what will keep me running at full capacity.  In my short years on this planet I have learned that there is a way to balance your life in order to reach your full potential. This situation I’m facing now is one that is definitely going to be a challenge.  At this point in my search for balance I have found that it begins with taking one day at a time, one hour at a time and really one moment at a time.  There are only so many hours in the day and I am only human.  Without proper rest and fuel for my body full functionality does not happen.  I know this is something everyone goes through, yet not all wants to address it.

I have so many things I want to pursue in my life and career and tackling this search for a balance in my life will help me to be successful in the present but also in the rest of my life.  This balance I’m searching for is a definite life-long evolving process and I will continue to update as to how I’m doing with it.

I urge those out there reading this that are just going through motions without a sense of balance to search out your balance.  You will be much happier internally and find that you are able to achieve things you only dreamed of.

I will leave you all with a picture that signals the beginning of my NYC picture scrapbook.  Enjoy and live your life balanced!

– another sopraboist

Leave a Reply

