Middle of summer already?….

Wow! What a year!…ummm… yeah, sure…

So it has been awhile since I last posted, and all I can say is it has been a busy time since then. I officially completed the first year of my DMA and am moving on to year 2 which I am sure will be just as busy as the last. I love the program at the CUNY Grad Center and am so happy that I have the chance to study there. I will admit it was an extremely difficult adjustment, and one that many may not have wanted to survive through. Besides starting the program I was beginning in a new city – New York City – (of all places) and had to find sources of money. I ended up with a job working in a call center making hotel reservations. (Talk about a stretch from the music!!) I found it to be interesting and frustrating at the same time, but it was flexible and allowed for my own personal work to be attended to in down times. At the height of the year I was working 5 jobs all while fitting in practicing, class, lessons and yes even some time for eating and sleeping.

I have been able to make great connections, see wonderful concerts and sightsee while showing people around that have come to visit. I even perform from time to time! (Come out and see me if you can!)

At the beginning of 2012 I was asked to join Music Mountain as the Festival Manager and that is what has kept me busy since the first of June. It’s such an interesting side of Music, as I am doing all the heavy admin work that most musicians don’t get a chance to experience. I am the one paid employee of the festival so I run the box office, make the print and digital ads, posters, manage the social media, work with the artists, and solve any problems that come my way.

In a few weeks I will be taking to the stage at Music Mountain to give a concert during the 16th Annual Lucarelli Oboe Master Class. I’m extremely exited about the concert and am having a great time rehearsing and practicing. I will post more details about the concert soon, but it is Wednesday, August 8 at 7:30pm.

Have a great rest of the summer!

20120710-181738.jpg

– another sopraboist

<a

Leave a Reply

